Downs Named Superintendent of the Year

Dr. Downs Named Indiana State Superintendent of the Year
Posted on 09/11/2019

Dr. Phil Downs, Superintendent of Southwest Allen County School District (SACS), has been named the 2020 Indiana Superintendent of the Year by the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents (IAPSS).

Dr. Downs became Superintendent of SACS in 2014.  Prior to his appointment, he was SACS Assistant Superintendent beginning in 2010. Before coming to the district, Dr. Downs served as a Northwest Allen County elementary principal at Cedar Canyon Elementary and Assistant Principal and Athletic Director at Maple Creek Middle School.  He began his teaching career in Fort Wayne Community Schools in 1989.

IAPSS will present Dr. Downs with his award at the 2019 IAPSS Annual Conference on Thursday, December 5th at the banquet in the Westin Hotel. Other Indiana finalists will also be honored.

DISTRICT I           Dr. Stacey Schmidt, Porter Twp. Schools

DISTRICT II          Dr. Phil Downs, SW Allen County Schools

DISTRICT III        Jason Callahan, Wabash City Schools

DISTRICT IV        Dr. Scott Bowling, Crawfordsville Schools

DISTRICT V         Dr. Beth Niedermeyer, Noblesville Community Schools

DISTRICT VI        Reece Mann, Delaware Community Schools

DISTRICT VII       William Hochgesang, NE Dubois County Schools

DISTRICT VIII      Dr. Paul Ketcham, Batesville Community Schools

Dr. Downs’ name has been forwarded to the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) to represent Indiana in the National Superintendent of the Year competition at the AASA National Education Conference in San Diego, CA., in February 2020.